myjourneyfromfattofit

July 3, 2011

Week 8

Filed under: Things I do to get fit a.k.a exercise! Eeek!, Thoughts for the day — Tags: , , — myjourneyfromfattofit @ 7:09 pm

Well I started week 8 of my 10 week run program yesterday.  It is difficult, yet not difficult all at the same time…….my body is adjusting to running again and even with the increases in time every week I am getting used to the feeling and getting my stride earlier in my intervals.  I am able to catch my breath faster and the whole asthma thing is not really bothering me much except on humid days….then it feels like a troll is sitting on my chest while I run…which is awesome.  I have actually been able to start paying better attention to my form while running now….making sure I am not holding my arms to close to my chest so as not to close my chest and make breathing harder…….proper foot placement as I run instead of just thinking oh God one foot in front of the other till the bell dings…..now it’s more like only 2 songs to go till the bell dings 😉

I have mixed emotions.  On the one hand I am super excited that I am almost to the end of this program…..I am a runner again and I LOOOOVVVVEEEE that, it makes me feel so very free and it makes me so aware of my own body.  On the other hand, I am almost at the end of this goal…..it makes me anxious…..it makes me sad…..

crazy you say…….enjoy your success you say……I am…..but I am sad….I need big goals to be motivated and to stay motivated……I still am working on the weight-loss goal, that one will keep me busy for quite a time yet, however I feel like I am losing something the closer I get to my running goal. I like to challenge myself, and the more fit I get, the more fit I want to be.

I want to inspire people……I want to motivate others….to show that the only things that are impossible are the things you tell yourself you can’t do……I like to think big…….so I thought up my next running goal…….10k…yuppers that’s what I will be training for next……10 kilometers! YIKES! I have never run that far…..not even for chocolate!  In my previous life as a semi-fit, kinda chubby, yet muscular chick I only ever ran 5k and felt like that was an accomplishment.  Now not so much…..now I feel like I want to keep reaching……so 10k it will be.  i have a secret goal of running a marathon with my bestie sometime next year…..but that is still so big it’s scary so it stays in the dark recesses of my brain for now and remains secret or I’ll be too scared and give up……so for now the next big goal is 10k.  I’ll be finished my 5k plan in 2 weeks and then will maintain that until august.  In the meantime I will hunt for the right 10k training plan for me and when I find it I will post it on here for anyone else that wants to follow.

I’m a little scared…..a lot excited…..kinda like the first time a cute boy leans in for a kiss…..clammy hands……butterflies in my stomach…….little tingles all over……..and a smile from ear to ear! Can’t wait to get to 10k 😉

2 Comments »

  1. Yeah, congrats on your running program. It only gets easy from here. And that secret marathon haunts me in my head too. 😉 There are some super running websites here on WordPress, Ill have a look after work today and send you the link.

    Comment by Jennifer Avventura — July 4, 2011 @ 2:28 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

