myjourneyfromfattofit

May 15, 2011

My 30 Day Challenge

Filed under: Things I do to get fit a.k.a exercise! Eeek!, Thoughts for the day — Tags: , , — myjourneyfromfattofit @ 11:36 am

I have been floundering lately in my workouts.  I have been letting the issues in my personal life, (breaking up with the man in my life, school etc. etc.) get in the way of my health and fitness goals.  Since moving away for my internship I have been able to get my eating about 95% clean.  However, the exercise thing not so much.  I started telling myself that because I am constantly moving for most of the day at my internship that I am exercising.  While I am active it is certainly not real exercise.  Friday night I decided to make very bad food choices, and most of Saturday I paid dearly for it.  My stomach was not happy to say the least, I had a headache all day, I was so thirsty I could not get enough to drink and just felt generally lethargic.  Although I did force myself to do a 30 min. yoga dvd I have, I also ate some of the leftover bad food from Friday night – mistake-a-mundo! Big, HUGE mistake, I once again made myself sick.  I became the definition of insanity incarnate.  Keep doing the same thing over and over and expect a different result ~ insane!  I am putting my foot down and will not (at least for the next 30 days) make bad food choices, I will treat my body how it should be treated with whole healthy foods.  If I am craving a treat I will make myself a clean treat not go out and purchase a processed pre-packaged piece of garbage that will only serve to sabotage my goals.  So I am not saying I will not “cheat” so to speak, but if I do it will be a homemade clean wholesome version.

Soooo, I have been debating joining the local YMCA, if I could get them to give me a membership I can afford.  However, I have re-evaluated this decision.  I really am on a shoe-string budget for the next 3 months and I don’t want to spend money that I don’t absolutely need to.  Back at square one.  What to do about working out?  I know that I need to in order to continue on the path to reaching my fitness goals.  But what to do for free? Without having to join a gym or purchase a lot of equipment to use at home?  I began surfing around the net and came across a site called ExerciseTv.  They have a mountain of videos that you can purchase and download for minimal fees, as well as a plethora of free online videos.  Score!  I found a 30 day program  called the “Sexy Summer Body Workout”  There is a downloadable printable form that allows you to track how much of the workout you are able to complete each day.  This way you can track your progress and see in a concrete form that you are improving.  Also for me this will help keep me accountable to myself – I do not wish to see a blank day unless it is a rest day.

The videos in this plan are broken up into a 20 minute cardio, then a 10 minute abs section one day then a different set of exercies the next day.  As the weeks progress the exercises increase to 40 minutes.  There are rest days incorporated into the program.  you do not need much equipment for this program at all, a couple of 5-1- lb hand weights and maybe a mat for floor work if you dont want to be on a bare floor or your carpet.

This morning was day 1.  Let me tell you that after 20 minutes I was a little out of breath and definately sweating.  These exercises are no walk in the park.  I love it! I will definately be able to work out at home with this program!

I’m fired up! day 1 down 29 more to go!  I will post any progress in my weight and measurements along the way.  If anyone would like to follow along or perhaps even try this 30 day challenge with me I would love it!

Here is the link to the site and the page the 30 day plan is located on:   http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-plans/

3 Comments »

  1. that’s awesome!!! Love the net.

    Comment by Jennifer Avventura — May 15, 2011 @ 1:44 pm

  2. Well I just did day 1 with my hubby. That giant count down thingy in the corner is a god send. ok so, Ill take the challenge with you. WHEW!

    and Ill make a mention of this in the no-smoking thread since quiting smoking smoking makes us quiters want to eat a lot.

    Thats a great web site you found.

    Comment by lifewith4cats — May 16, 2011 @ 1:08 am

    • yay!!!!! so cool that I insipred you to join me! let me know how you like it and how your progressing along the way – so great!

      Comment by myjourneyfromfattofit — May 16, 2011 @ 5:56 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

