myjourneyfromfattofit

March 21, 2011

Jet Fuel

Filed under: Fuel a.k.a what I eat — Tags: , , — myjourneyfromfattofit @ 12:04 pm

It’s Monday and I am fully committed to perfecting my fuel for the week.  I follow the principles of clean eating which means no refined sugars, no processed “food”, good fats (yes there is such a thing), little to no caffeine, lean proteins and complex carbs.  It also means that I fire up my metabolism by eating 5-6 times a day. your probably saying well no wonder your fat stop eating so often! However, the best way to lose weight is to eat – yes I said it – eat and lose! 3 meals, 2 or 3 snacks per day depending on how hungry I am or what my body needs.  I have a tendency to eat the same meals over and over – mostly because I’m too busy between school and work to take the time to prepare diverse meals, but also I have to admit to a bit of sheer laziness added to the mix as well.

the thing with losing weight and getting healthy is that while exercise is very necessary, it really is mostly what passes over your lips that will make the most difference.  there is no point in being a gorilla in the gym if your going to keep all those lovely muscles your building hidden under the extra fats, sugars and sheer amount of calories you eat each day.  Processed foods that do nothing but make you hungrier and increase your cravings will not help you get to that fit tight body you dream of having. It took me a long time to accept this and even longer to embrace it – but now I couldn’t go back to my old way of eating myself to death.  instead I choose to fuel myself into health and longevity

here is an example of what I eat in a day:

Breakfast:

1c. oatmeal w berries, cinnamon, nutmeg and flax

or

2 whites 1 yolk omega 3 egg omelette with spinach, mushrooms and goat cheese

Snack 1: 1/2c. low-fat low sodium cottage cheese with fresh fruit

Lunch:

grilled chicken breast with whatever veggies are around

or

can of albacore tuna packed in water, mixed with sesame oil, lime juice, balsamic vinegar, cayan pepper, garlic, other herbs either with mixed veggies or on a bed of romaine lettuce (no iceberg there is very little nutritional value in iceberg lettuce)

Snack 2: 1 medium-sized apple and about 10-15 raw unsalted almonds

Supper:

lean protein – such as chicken breast, turkey, fish or on occasion lean cut of beef.  I usually grill whatever protein I’m going to have

more veggies or a salad

Snack 3 (if needed): serving of greek yogurt mixed with cocoa powder or cinnamon

*** I drink as much water as I can during the day, in the morning I usually have one decaf hazelnut vanilla coffee, with a little skim milk or sometimes I treat myself with some 2% milk (I will be giving up my beloved coffee soon and making my own flavored coffee as I just discovered the flavourings in the one I normally drink are artificial – no chemicals for this grrl!) and I drink a mountain of decaf herbal teas as much as I want

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

